The Apple Cider Vinegar Diaries: Day 2

27 Sept: I toddled down the stairs this morning, I often toddle first thing in the morning because the joints don’t work like they used to, and I was greeted with a clear, sparkling, autumn-ish aroma of apples laced through the cold morning air. I really must turn the heating back on; it was flipping cold in the house this morning. Pathetic. End of September and I’m already looking at burning gas to keep my nose from freezing … and dripping as it usually does when it’s cold. It’s simply no good having my nose drip into a not-yet-fermenting bowl of apples as I lean over it to check for carbon dioxide bubbles.

Well, a report is a report is a report. There’s nothing to report. No bubbles. No bugs floating in it either, which surprised me a bit after I had to chase apple maggots across the worktop as I chopped up the apples. So far just a wonderfully light perfume of apples is the only signal that something is ‘cooking’ in the kitchen.

So with that in mind, namely that nothing whatsoever is happening with my apples yet, here’s a photo of my bowl of bobbing apples plus two humungous jars of Danish-style pickles called “Asier”. These are made from pickling cucumbers that are allowed to grow to a size equal to a basketball player’s right shoe. We grow three vines every year in the greenhouse, keep them well watered, and then just let them grow beyond what most people think of as a proper cucumber. Nearly marrow size they are. One of these overgrown cucumbers is truly larger and longer than my foot, and I wear a size 38 shoe. Yes, I know that’s small but when was the last time you saw a cucumber wearing a size 38 shoe, huh?

So, here’s hoping that something happens with my apples by tomorrow morning. If not, I’m apt to start posting holiday photos and bore everyone to death.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. ceciliag says:

    great post! did i miss the recipe?i will go in search of part 1.. c

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      c, the recipe and method are at Carl’s blog. Here’s the link.

      My apples are bubbling this morning, so Carl’s method is a winner!

      http://llynlines.blogspot.com/2011/09/fermenting-revolution-2-apple-cider.html

  2. Joanna says:

    I think I’m going to have to beg for some oversized pickling cucumbers and the recipe, now I have the spices. What seed do you grow the cucumbers from, is there a particular variety? I might grow one in the cold frame next year. I don’t have a greenhouse…. They look magnificent in their jars. (swoons!). 😀

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Joanna, this one should suit your garden quite well. If you buy plug plants though just select normal pickling or gherkin cucumbers. You need the sort that have the tiny white sharp spurs on the skin, not the smooth long type from the supermarket.

      http://www.realseeds.co.uk/cucumbers.html

      ‘Wautoma’ Cucumber
      An excellent cucumber from the breeding program at the University of Wisconsin in the 1980’s, this was recommended to us by cucumber expert Robert Bruns. It can either be used small for pickles or left to grow for use as a slicing cucumber.

      The plants set many lightly striped dark green fruit , with tiny white spines that come off easily. We got an awful lot of cucumbers off this one!

      Quick to set fruit, bitter-free, and Robert says it resists nearly all known cucumber diseases. (anthracnose, angular leaf spot, CMV, DM, PM, & scab!)

      You can grow it indoors or out, and we think it’ll be quite a few years before we find anything that can even come near it in terms of yield or reliability. We grow huge numbers outdoors here in Wales with no trouble at all.

      Provide some support outdoors, under cover quite happy on the ground.

      Order CuWA – 12 seed [OG1] £2.25

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

