The Letter Z is for: Zingy Mackerel

on

First of all, a zillion trillion thanks to each and every one of you who took the time read Misk Cooks, and thank you for the opportunity you’ve given me to make such wonderful new friends. It’s my hope that we’ll have many more months of cookery fun together in the future. Thank you!

And so to the letter Z.

It’s the last letter of the alphabet and the last Bank Holiday of the summer today, so we had a barbeque to mark the occasion. Mr. BBQ wiped the spider webs from the BBQ fish rack, and then he set about deboning the mackerel that we bought at the fishmonger. Tweezers. My tweezers. I’ve washed them in hot soapy water three times, and contrary to popular belief, third time is not a charm; they still smell all fishy. But I digress … as usual …

P1000587 (1024x768)

I love mackerel, be it in tomato sauce or smoked or cured. I also love it barbequed. Glistening with olive oil served with this zingy sauce.

Zingy Mackerel with Ginger Tomato Sauce

2 mackerel, gutted and head removed

2 tablespoons olive oil (one for the fish and one for the sauce)
250g cherry tomatoes, cut into quarters
3 garlic cloves, thinly sliced
fresh ginger, a thumb-length size, sliced into slivers
a splash of rice wine vinegar
a splash of soy sauce

Barbeque the mackerel for 5 minutes on each side until the skin is browned. While they cook …

P1000586 (1024x768)

Warm a frying pan on the stove with 1T olive oil, and then sauté the ginger and garlic for 1-2 minutes. Add the quartered cherry tomatoes, and simmer for 2 minutes allowing the juices to reduce slightly. A few seconds before the mackerel is finished, add a splash of the rice wine vinegar and soy sauce. Stir, and then spoon over the mackerel.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Joanna says:

    I’ve never bbq’d fish. But if I do I’ll remember this one – sounds delicious. Thank you so much for accompanying me on this blogathon. It’s a lot of work isn’t it? xx

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      It was a lot of work, tiring too, but great fun and a welcome diversion from my other writing. Thanks for suggesting that I might enjoy it – I did.

      Is it that you don’t care for barbecued fish or that you just haven’t tried it? Mackerel is wonderful over hot coals – much prefer it that way to pan fried. And salmon? You’ve never barbecued salmon fillets?

      1. Joanna says:

        We have some kit, a teeny weeny gas one called a Barbie q, and a thing with a lid that we got from Lakeland, but well, it’s always a bit of an effort… I always love it when we do it – just doesn’t happen that often. Though having said that there is a back lane get together bbq thingie on Saturday and maybe this would just be the thing.. !

  2. teawithhazel says:

    what a delicious meal..i’ve never seen mackerel here but maybe i’m not looking in the right places..of course i could use another fish but now i’ve seen your mackerel i want that and nothing else..:)

  3. Misk Cooks says:

    I’ve always thought that mackerel is a cold water fish, so perhaps you’d not see it in Australia … unless it’s frozen. It’s a lovely fish that loves to be barbecued.

  4. Oh your poor tweezers… the Mr’s can be cheeky like that.
    I think everything tastes better over hot coals, just which I had room for some.

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Joanna suggested a long soak in a baking soda solution, and that took away all the wiffy-ness. We barbecued on a small grill that sits on our patio. It takes up less room than some of my potted herbs! :O

  5. heidi says:

    My problem with fish is my husband.
    When I want to eat fish it has to be somewhere else.
    He doesn’t like the texture- he doesn’t like the smell.
    I may send this recipe to my son and his wife- they are great cooks-
    and they DO like fish!
    And I could go and visit!
    Thanks for taking us along on your Alphabetical challenge!

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      I absolutely love fish, but I’m aware that lots of people feel just as your husband does. My aunt hates fish – can’t tolerate the taste or smell of it. She actually turns a shade of grey if she smells it.

      And many thanks for following along on the August Alphabetic challenge. 😀

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

