The Letter W is for: What’s …

… for lunch!

This August Alphabet lark has created a good supply of leftovers to pick through for a quick meal. I made Marcella’s basic tomato sauce the other day for The Letter T, and after using half of it for pasta sauce, I decided to finish it off by turning it into a big bowl of tomato and fresh basil soup with shaved parmesan cheese swimming on top. And not to forget Sedrick’s latest off-spring, or should that be his latest oven-spring (chuckling…), I had 3 slices of his Roasted Garlic and Olive Oil Sourdough Bread … toasted golden brown with the treat of real butter oozing across its crunchy-self.

This might be the wrong choice for lunch, actually. Or perhaps it’s something Freudian or Karma-corroding. I have my semi-annual dental check-up this afternoon. Garlic. Woo!

P1000548 (800x600)

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Joanna says:

    Garlic is good for dentists, it keeps them alert and encourages them to be brisk and get on with their work. That bowl of soup with the toast discretely hidden behind looks like a perfect pick me up and slurp me down lunch 🙂

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      I have to admit that it was totally yummy, and so hit the spot in this chilly, damp weather we’re having. I freeze Marcella’s sauce in one cup portions in bags, so it’s easy to thaw one out, dilute it a bit with stock, and throw in some herbs and veg. It’s a fab platform for leftovers (bits of pasta, veg, etc.).

      Clive didn’t mention the garlic, so I guess I wasn’t so breathy as I thought I’d might be.

  2. teawithhazel says:

    perfectly delicious lunch..i am looking forward to fresh tomatoes and basil and all those summery goodies..

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Our summer is nearly finished now. Boohoo. I can still make summery soups using tinned tomatoes though, so all’s not lost to Mother Nature’s changes.

      We’ve had such a cool and damp summer this year that my basil really suffered. I had a large plant growing on the kitchen windowsill, so at least I didn’t need to use the dried stuff. Fresh is always better, in my better.

      What is your favourite culinary herb? Basil?

  3. teawithhazel says:

    i couldn’t say i had a favourite..i love them all but parsley would have to be the most versatile..

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

