The Letter V is for: Voracious

I could only be referring to Sedrick, of course. He has the appetite of an army that’s crawled across a continent on its stomach. No. That doesn’t make sense. Well, maybe it does; he devours everything I throw his way. The little darling no sooner demolishes his food when he’s bouncing up and down, burping and bubbling and begging for more. I suspect that his energetic approach to life accounts for the zeppelin-size loaf of sourdough he pumped up for me this afternoon. I mean, gaazooks!

I pinched the idea for this loaf from a combination of Dan Lepard’s recipe for Roasted Garlic and Olive Oil Sourdough, from Jeffrey Hamelman’s similar recipe in “Bread”, and a loaf that we bought at Tesco in Brighton this weekend from La Brea Sourdough.

Briefly, the loaf has 10 small cloves of garlic, half roasted in the oven with 10g olive oil, and the other half blanched. All were finely diced rather than left whole as called for in Dan’s recipe. There’s also 30g of Sedrick (100% rye hydration), plus 250g strong white bread flour, 1/8 teaspoon of active yeast just for luck, 5g salt, the already mentioned 10g olive oil, and 150g warm water that I also used to activate the yeast with a pinch a sugar. I also used Dan Lepard’s method of kneading and resting but only two times (15 seconds each), plus another as I shaped the loaf. I added the remaining minced garlic during the final shaping just as Dan indicated in his original recipe at  http://www.danlepard.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=924  Thanks to Zeb Bakes for pointing me to this recipe.

I used steam in the oven produced from a pan of boiling water, oven temp preheated to 200C for 30-minutes, and the loaf was baked for 40-minutes. I think it could have baked longer but I resisted this as Dan’s recipe calls for 30-minutes in total for double the dough. Next time I’ll bake it longer.

This is the first oblong loaf that I’ve baked and slashed, and I’m very pleased with it. I haven’t seen inside it yet as it’s still cooling but I am hopeful. At the moment, it’s “singing”.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Joanna says:

    I love the singing of the bread! Blessed are the bakers for they shall have fresh bread for supper! Sedrick is clearly marching to his own drum, would we expect anything else from your starter 😀

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      He’s a little rough but he’s ready. 😀 In time, I’m hopeful he’ll mellow; buy a house, settle down, give me more grandchildren, walk the dog … that sort of thing.

  2. teawithhazel says:

    he’s a looker old sed..
    when he’s bread
    but in the pot
    he’s not so hot 🙂

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Lovely! I wonder if Sedrick is the first starter to inspire poetry. 😀 That’s my boy!

  3. I love it when they sing too.
    He’s done you proud that boy, a fine looking loaf.

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Whistling a happy tune! He *was* a fine looking loaf. Yum (dusting away bread crumbs…). I’ll certainly do this recipe again. It was delicious. 😀

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

