The Letter U is for: Uniformity

on

… the uniformity of nature, that is.

I’m not much for uniformity in any other form. I’ve never been one to fall in line. Growing up, I not only marched to the beat of a different drum but I usually carried my own drum as well. I think my father secretly admired that trait in me but as a parent, and husband, he felt there were lessons well learnt from uniformity. My drum and I drove my poor mother right round the bend, which explains why my father kept his admiration underwraps. But now, every time that I’m pottering in the garden, I am reminded that uniformity is natural and orderly, and only a fool takes on the power and mystique of nature. Uniformity is the fundamental basis of nature. Mathematical uniformity expressed in precision, geometric angles.

Today the letter “U” is for uniformity and my admiration of it in nature.

LoveInTheMist_Nigella

Visit other August Alphabet friends:

http://zebbakes.com/

http://nipitinthebud.wordpress.com/

http://chiotsrun.com/

http://emilysincerely.wordpress.com/

Susan “Penless” at http://penlesswriter.blogspot.com

http://www.paganites.com/

http://plot52.blogspot.com/

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Carl Legge says:

    Hi Misk

    Mmm, I think that this depends on your perspective and scale.

    It’s a Law of Physics that entropy (the amount of disorder) increases as time progresses.

    Perhaps you are just ahead of your time 🙂

    Carl x

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Hi, Carl, and thank you so very much for continuing to read and offer your comments and perspective. I’m very pleased.

      A very small garden helps to reduce disorder ….

  2. Joanna says:

    There’s that good old second law of thermodynamics as Carl says, the one where time’s arrow takes us to the end of the universe and beyond, decay, destruction, disorder etc etc but in the meantime there’s life: wonderful life embodied in the extraordinary symmetries of nature, Fibonacci sequences in seashells etc etc all amazing, all unique and seemingly patterned yet all slightly different, otherwise there would be no change. I choose life, the second law get me a little depressed, and then I write morbid poetry as we know, fortunately not many people get to suffer my poetry apart from you. Must be time to make supper. I like the photo !

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      uh-huh … yep …. seashells … love ‘um …. damn this is good bread ….

    2. Misk Cooks says:

      … and I love your poetry, by the way.

  3. Joanna says:

    Sorry please do delete my twaddle! Got carried away there for a moment. Wish I had some of your bread here right now…

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      No way!! I love twaddle!

  4. teawithhazel says:

    nature is magnificent beautiful powerful terrifying and i am in total awe and i also feel blessed to have been given a moment to enjoy it..

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Hi, and thanks for posting such a lovely, thoughtful comment. I absolutely agree with you. Makes me wonder why we think we can manipulate and muck with it without consequence. Deary me.

  5. heidi says:

    Perhaps you just looked at the wrong type of mathematics- you should have been looking at fractals!

    http://www.coolmath.com/fractals/fractals-02.htm

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Such a lively and colourful site! The first thing I did, after waiting for my eyes to re-focus, was to check out the maths dictionary. Interesting: no letters X, Y, or Z. I am so stuck for a letter X!!

      But first I need to tackle the mountain of laundry and ironing that requires my attention. (sigh)

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

