The Letter O is for: Oh!

I say “oh!” a lot lately. It started a few months ago when I took up baking bread as a hobby.

At first it was, “Oh! Look what I’ve just made!” Sometimes it was “Oh, dear! Is it supposed to look like that?” And then occasionally it was simply “Ooooooh …” when I tasted something just cooled from the oven. But contrary to how things look on this blog, I don’t always cook up success.

There’s the time that the warm water was too hot and I killed the yeast. I said something rather more than just “Oh!” that day. Or when the dog had an accident on the carpet, and I didn’t hear the beeper go off … and I burnt a loaf to charcoal and set off the smoke alarm. That was something like “Oh you stupid old, daft dimwit.” And then there was the weekend when the dough bowed out of its second rise, and I said “Oh, erm, well, I’ll just be right back, Darling. I have to pop down to the shops for a few things…” Bread, namely.

Today, Sedrick took centre stage. He has an unmistakeable sourness about him now, and he’s just produced a loaf that made me blink on first tasting. The photo is above. Holes and all. I’ve also done a cryogenics on Sedrick; he’s in deep-freeze now until I need him next weekend. I’m hoping that I haven’t harmed him by freezing him, but from what I’ve read, he should be just dandy waiting for me in there.


Visit other August Alphabet friends:

http://zebbakes.com/

http://nipitinthebud.wordpress.com/

http://chiotsrun.com/

http://emilysincerely.wordpress.com/

Susan “Penless” at http://penlesswriter.blogspot.com

http://www.paganites.com/

http://plot52.blogspot.com/

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Joanna says:

    You make me smile. Did today’s loaf make you blink in a good way? It looks splendid. You are a great baker 🙂

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      I find it very difficult to post comments using an iPad. I’m going to try that WordPress app and see if that makes it easier.

    2. Misk Cooks says:

      Thank you again for all of your support and endless time helping me. I still have a lot to learn, and I think I just lucked-out with the baker’s percentages on the sourdough today. I just did it by feel, actually. I had two big pots of starter going so one froze and one went straight into the bowl with water and flour. I also did an overnight ferment, so this was one very sour little critter. Peder loved it! Said it was the best he’d tasted including proper bakery stuff.

      It goes without saying that my reply was, “Oh! Wow! Thanks! Oh!

      I’m just such a sucker for a compliment.

  2. teawithhazel says:

    i’m new to the sourdough baking game too and there are a lot of oh’s going on here too..and by the way that loaf of your s looks oh so delicious..jane

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Hi Jane, and thanks for joining in by leaving a comment. 😀

      I’m so hoping that I haven’t harmed my starter by freezing it, but from what I’ve read in Dan Lepard’s book and elsewhere on the internet, it should be okay. Do you find that when you first started baking bread that you were up to your armpits in loaves? I just seem to want to bake everything that I see, and unfortunately I only have a teeny freezer. Have you baked bread this week, and if so what did you make?

      1. teawithhazel says:

        i’ve only made 5 sourdough only loaves since i made my starter and so i’m still playing with the basic recipe and getting a sense of what works best..although having said that i keep adding spurious ingredients to avoid waste..for instance yesterday i used low fat biodynamic milk instead of water because the milk was starting to go sour..interestingly it tastes much the same as when it’s made with water..i’m not a freezer user so i only make what i can use at the time so my experimentation journey will be a slow..starters are like precious pets so i hope yours hasn’t suffered from being frozen..jane

        1. Misk Cooks says:

          That loaf that you photographed on your blog is simply stunning. Well done you!

          I tried adding some surplus lemon juice to a loaf I made recently. Not particularly pleasant result, and I won’t be trying that again. It was edible but just not as good as I’d hoped. But we ~must~ experiment to improve, right?

  3. Misk that looks wonderful. It looks like you’ve been making sourdough for years. A couple of slices of that loaf and anybody would be happy!
    Re: the frozen. I’ve done it twice. The first time no problem, the second mucho problemo. It got there in the end but took a good 8 days of coaxing it back with lots of love and whispered promises. I hope it’s easy for you.

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Hi Brydie! Gosh, that’s a bit worrying about your frozen starter. I’ll re-activating one of the little starter disks next week. P (hubby) has munched his way through nearly 1/2 the loaf already, so I’ll have to dust off my pinnie and start baking again. Yeah! Any excuse to bake!

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

