Sedrick Shows What He’s Made Of …

on

He’s a week old. He’s a feisty little guy who often blows the top right off the lid of his jar. All that aside, The House of Misk’s latest protégée, Sedrick-the-Starter, produced a lovely loaf of sourdough bread this afternoon … despite rain and thunder and lightening and a frightened dog barking non-stop for an hour. Goodness me, give me some of Sedrick’s strength!

P1010236 (800x600)

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Joanna says:

    Well done that Sedrick! Hip hip Hooray! And to think that only a few days ago you were, just a bubble in the bottom of a Kilner and look at you now. You’re beautiful 😀

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      That PDF file was a huge help, Joanna. I cut the totals in half so I could work with a manageable weight. This loaf was very tasty, Peder agreed, and he’s looking forward to a more sour flavour. I told him to just wait another week. 😀

      I also finally produced the slash lines that I wanted, thanks to something that I read on your blog about ‘painting the slash with water to make them open up.” Nifty trick that.

      1. Joanna says:

        The Hamelman breads don’t tend to come out with a really sour taste profile. You might like to try the Mill Loaf in Dan’s book for a comparison bake, I remember that one as sourer and more substantial, different proportions of starter to new flour and so on. (You can always add a little vinegar to the dough to give it more sour taste, my Aunt does that in Sweden when she bakes, I’ve not tried it, but it might be worth investigating some time). Glad to be of help anyway 😀

  2. Carl Legge says:

    Beautiful indeed. Nice teamwork Sedrick & Misk 🙂

  3. Misk Cooks says:

    Thank you, Carl, and thanks to you for answering a few of my questions during those initial panic moments. 😀

  4. drfugawe says:

    Way to go, Sedrick, … and Misk.

  5. Misk Cooks says:

    Thank you, Doc!

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

