Sedrick Goes Walkabout

Sedrick is a teenager; he’s rebellious. He wants to wander and explore. He wants a pair of scissors to cut my apron strings. Sedrick is causing me concern.

During the hours of 11pm and 6am, Sedrick put on his gummy shoes and escaped into the bowl I cleverly set below his jar for just such an eventuality. I mean, come on — I’ve raised two sons, and I know a bit about adolescent rebellion and wanderlust…the yeast is sweeter on the other side of the road and all that. But just like my sons, when they decide to go — they’re gone.

Sedrick is only half what he was before I wished him goodnight.

So, now what?

P1010222 (800x600)

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Joanna says:

    Sedrick is obviously one of those children who looks tall for his age. Remember he is below the age of criminal responsibilty, give him some clean clothes, something to eat and drink, avoid E numbers, and maybe a bigger playpen. He is doing well, worry not xxx

  2. Misk Cooks says:

    LOL! You are so cute. xx

  3. Misk Cooks says:

    I was thinking that I’d feed him now. He’s probably hungry after all that activity. But then I started thinking more reasonably and decided that if he can meander around the kitchen under his own steam then he can either fetch his own food or wait until dinner time.

  4. Carl Legge says:

    Hi Misk

    Perhaps he needs bigger accomodation now he’s growing up. My kids live in a 1 litre kilner jar. It leaves a bit more room for boistrous behaviour and means that allowing them to bulk up for big work is easier 🙂

    1. MiskMask says:

      Hi, Carl! My 1L Kilners are the old fashioned screw top sort with the red plastic rim, so I’m thinking I’ll use a few Tesco vouchers and treat Sedrick to new, larger digs with a clip-topper. I suspect that Sedrick is a chip off the old block; I was a bit of a handful as a teenager, too. 😀

      1. Carl Legge says:

        LOL, I use ASDA 1 litre jars which are only a quid each, so you won’t need to dock his pocket money or use the child benefit 😀

        1. Misk Cooks says:

          ASDA is on my grumpy list; they charge for parking because they’re located near the rail station. If you don’t spend more than £10, they won’t give you a voucher to reimburse that expense. My efforts to keep inflation controlled are undermined by both Sedrick and WalMart enterprises.

  5. Poor old Sedrick has made a bit of a mess of himself hasn’t he. Nothing a good feed, and maybe a little lie down won’t fix though.

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      The little rebel rouser is all cleaned up now, and I’ll feed him tonight. I’m going to buy him new digs, as Carl suggested, so he can kick up a fuss without making a mess. Tsk-tsk, kids.

  6. Joanna says:

    Follow your parental instincts. If he looks very sad, feed him earlier… he is quite frail at this stage….

  7. Joanna says:

    Or as the expression goes ‘all talk and no trousers” 🙂

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      I just sent you an email because I don’t know whether to replace what oozed out overnight or remove 3/4 of the remaining total and replace that.

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

