Grizzly Bears, Salmon and Codswallop

I tried a new technique of kneading dough today that’s rather like slinging and smacking it about like a grizzly bear with salmon, and I must say …. “Codswallop”. I had bits of dough stuck on my specs, on my arms up to my elbows, stuck to the windowpane, and yes, darn it, also in my hair. Piffle. I’m back with Dan.

One good thing did come from this futile slinging match. I discovered that the correct word is ‘codswallop’ and not codswallow, and that  Hiram Codd is credited with the word’s origin. He patented a bottle for beer and fizzy drinks with a marble lodged in its neck. Wallop was a British slang term for beer, and Codd’s wallop was used by beer drinkers as a derogatory term for weak or gassy beer. At least that’s what my Brewer’s Dictionary claims.

I know this has nothing to do with cookery, but then neither does Chef Bertinet’s codswallop method of kneading dough. Here’s a link to the video.  

 Slam-Dunk-Dough-Kneading

I just now realised that this post has no photo or ‘talking-point’, so here’s a snap of the northeastern corner of my garden. According to my guru, Zeb, a blog needs to talking point – a hook, I guess … so here it is. I’m all prepared for the multitude of readers to soon appear out of the ether with fingers poised on their keyboards.

Hello?

9 Comments Add yours

  1. drfugawe says:

    Well hello! Humm …. when you say, ‘I can’t embed it in this post because that requires an upgrade of my “free” account.’ are you talking about this kind of embedding – http://drfugawe.wordpress.com/2009/11/14/its-just-a-garden-in-the-rain/ ?

    If you are, maybe WordPress once allowed it, but not now – or maybe it’s something you really can do – or maybe you’re talking about something else. Whatever.

    Now … where were we? Oh yeah – the talking point. Isn’t the codswallop of the dough, the talking point? BTW, that method works better with ‘enriched’ doughs than with simple flour/water bread doughs, but is closely related to the ‘stretch and fold’ methods used by many bakers – that guy is good though! I loved that little maneuver he does with the dough right at the end of the video.

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Yes, Doc, that’s the type of video I’m talking about. Oddest thing though – I put all the info requested by the codswallop site, and that should’ve resulted in the video being embedded into my blog. Nope. Didn’t appear. The flipping thing DID appear however right in the midst of my poetry blog! So I C&P’d the info into this blog, and voilà it showed up. Weird. There was however a notice that popped up from WordPress saying that embedded videos required an account upgrade. Not flippin’ likely. Which manoeuvre: when he blows flour dust at the viewers that he’s just codswallopped? ;D

      And what’s an enriched dough?

      1. drfugawe says:

        The little round blob of dough he’s cutting and opening in the last 5 seconds of the video – nice trick.

        An enriched dough is one that has stuff like eggs, butter, sugar, etc. added – they all make dough less sticky – but so does the development of gluten. Additionally, the surface he’s working on is metal, which makes working with dough much easier than on wood, like most of us. So, put the guy on a wooden board with a reg bread dough, and he’d be having trouble too.

        You know you can go back to your orig post and edit it to include that video now – I probably edit most of mine after they’ve been posted.

        1. Misk Cooks says:

          Oh, yes! That little starburst thingie. Lovely. Clever, too. I guess that’s a subtle hint to tidy up my post, eh? Tomorrow, Doc. Mañana, mañana.

  2. Joanna says:

    Does this help at all? Have you ever wondered why I don’t mention the Bertinet method of kneading on my blog? I can’t do that kneading either, I tried and I failed. Truth, and I got a bit cross in the process too. Having saId that lots of people can do it but who cares? Not me. Well I care a little but enough to glue myself to the worktop for a second time 😉

    But I love the garden picture, time to sit in one of those chairs and let this hot weather just flow I reckon. 25 C here, and I’ve got Brian’s throat infection. Sigh.

    Roll on the weekend!

  3. Misk Cooks says:

    Yes, to the first question, and no to the second, not me to the third question. Until today, I’d never heard of this guy who thinks it’s cute to blow flour dust into a person’s face. It also made me grumpy: both his kneading technique and that blowing nonsense. Is there a video of Dan out there? Is he normal or is he a dweeb also?

    So sorry to hear that you caught B’s throat infection. Have you been to the doctor? Are you on antibiotics? I finish mine in two days. I’ve been on them for 10-days.

    I just heard we’re in for a lovely, warm weekend!

  4. Not enough bench space, not enough time, and too messy hands while my Monkeys are up to who knows what. I’ve tried this method and I do like the results but as day to day method? No chance. Maybe one day when I have a big commercial kitchen at my disposal.
    Lovely garden shot too, I think I would like to just lay on the grass and look up into the sky…

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Hi, and thank you for coming by here again to read and comment. 😀

      After Doc said that Bertinet’s worktop was metal, I had to view that video again. It sure looks like wood to me, or maybe it’s just reflecting a wooden surface from somewhere else in his kitchen. But his method of kneading is just too flamboyant and chefy-like for my meagre abilities. I’ll stick (no pun intended) with Dan’s kneading methods for now as it works well for me. In the end, it was Dan’s method that saved my dough. Nice little loaf of granary with extra seeds. I also started that batch of dough off with a cold soaker made from some stale Danish rye bread, so it had a very deep flavour.

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

