Spit, Salt and Radishes

A recent article from Mark Bittman http://markbittman.com/radishes-with-olive-oil-and-sea-salt reminded me of my dad. It was the mention of radishes that did it.

My dad passed away 6-years ago, and for the first few years after he died, nearly everything I did, heard or said reminded me of him. That constant sorrow hasn’t knocked me sideways for a few years now. I do, of course, think about him but those thoughts bring smiles nowadays, not tears. I reckon he’s happy about that because my dad and I were as tight as friends could be. We thought alike, laughed at the same things, grumped over the same things, and loved each other endlessly. So when Mark Bittman mentioned radishes in a recent article, all sorts of memories came flooding back of my dad.

Just like Mark, my dad loved a radish. He wanted them hot on his tongue, and straight out of the ground. He’d make a half-hearted attempt to wipe off most of the damp soil clinging to the crisp, red globe with its furry, mint-green leaves. He’d hand me one, and he’d keep one for himself. We were made of sturdy stuff back then; a bit of soil was good for you.

And then he’d pull a small, travel-size salt shaker from his pocket. Salt, spit and radishes. My dad and I would sit on our heels in the middle of the garden for the longest time, spitting on radishes so the salt would stick until he declared that his knees where killing him. He was a postman, and his knees were always a complaint.

So today I remembered my dad. I had a small bowl of radishes straight out of the fridge, thoroughly washed, and neatly trimmed of its furry, mint-green leaves. One tradition held fast though: spit, salt and bite. Delish.

Love you, Dad.

14 Comments Add yours

  1. A lovely post… Those special memories are so important.

    1. MiskMask says:

      He was very, very special, and he’s left me a lifetime of wonderful memories that I can fall back on. 🙂

  2. Lovely! And such a sweet memory!

    1. MiskMask says:

      Mariya! How lovely to see you again, and thank you for taking the time to come visit me here in my kitchen. I hope that you’re still writing! xx

      1. Hi! I am writing and poeming, too. It’s just that summer is very busy and too hot, so I rarely visit the “social platforms” there days.
        Greetings!

        1. Misk Cooks says:

          Then I’ll look forward to cooler autumn weather when I can see more of you! xx

  3. drfugawe says:

    And your post reminds me that my mother used to say, “You’ve got to eat a peck of dirt before you die.” Which I used to think was just another dumb thing that parents say – however, over the years, medical science has proven my mother correct, in that we must give our personal friendly bacteria ‘practice’ in order to build up our immune systems. That’s what pro-biotics is all about!

    I love my friendly bacteria.

  4. Misk Cooks says:

    I take a supplement every day that keeps my flora happy down there. 🙂 Have done so for about 20-years – long before marketing types jumped on the bandwagon. It was my sister who suggested it, she has IBS, and it’s worked well for me. Particularly after a course of antibiotics!

    Do you take a supplement?

    1. drfugawe says:

      I take them infrequently, although I should do so more. I do a lot of fermented veggies each summer and I use those year round – also try to consume as much of the food world’s natural pro-biotics, such as yogurt and relatives.

      I too have issues with IBS, but interestingly, now that I no longer have the stress of work, it is almost totally absent – of course, I have also only in those same non-work years discovered the world of the above.

      I too read Jo’s link – and I don’t doubt their contentions – however, my own personal favorite article on the subject is http://www.nytimes.com/2010/10/31/fashion/31Unwashed.html Ha! I love it.

      1. Misk Cooks says:

        Interesting article. I tend to agree that we don’t need a “lathered wet” deep-clean on daily basis, but most contributors to that article do admit to a daily wash of their bits and pits. I agree to that – I need that. I don’t always need a full-lather in the shower though because I have very dry skin, that’s become even drier now that I’m nearing that age when I qualify for my free bus pass. In the summer though I do need something to keep my dry.

        I read an article recently about IBS and its relationship to stress. There seems to be a direct connection. Do you think stress contributed to your IBS symptoms?

        1. drfugawe says:

          Yes, I think my IBS issues were almost always stress related – I think I have a tendency toward IBS which stress triggers. Without any stress, I’m free of IBS issues.

          1. Misk Cooks says:

            I think my sister’s IBS is also stress related. She runs a private school for children with learning disabilities, and it’s very stressful. I hope you remain stress-free. 😀

  5. Joanna says:

    Misk this is a beautiful post and I want to raise a radish (like raising a glass sort of raising) to you and your love for your Dad!

    BTW this topic was hot last December in New Scientist, Scientific American etc etc, interesting I thought and less ‘way out’ than a lot of things I have read on immune systems

    http://www.scientificamerican.com/article.cfm?id=helminthic-therapy-mucus

    1. Misk Cooks says:

      Thank you so much, Joanna. 🙂

      That is a very interesting article! I am however very pleased that I’m not required to ingest worm eggs though. I think I’d find that difficult.

      It does make me wonder about all these hand sanitisers. They don’t seem to prevent colds so far as I can see.

      I wasn’t aware that Scientific American was available online. Thanks for that. I’ve bookmarked it.

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

