Creamy Ranch-Style Salad Dressing

We like salads. We like homemade salad dressing. We like to know that our salad leaves aren’t coated with chemical ingredients, excessive salt and/or sugar. I make our salad dressing. This is one, and I make another that’s a bog-standard vinaigrette dressing with Dijon and an egg yolk for emulsification.

This will keep in the fridge for a day or two, assuming that you don’t eat it before then. The recipe makes a small portion but it can be easily doubled, tripled, or whatever your heart desires without depending on a slide rule or abacas for the calculation. This recipe makes enough dressing for four small salads.

CREAMY RANCH-STYLE DRESSING

Ingredients:ranchStyleDressing

4 T non-fat Greek Yogurt
2 T light mayonnaise
2 T low fat buttermilk
1 T fresh lemon juice or 1/2 T white wine vinegar
1 t French Dijon mustard
1 very finely chopped shallot
1/4 t onion powder
1/4 t garlic powder
1/4 t dried parsley
1/4 t celery salt
1/4 t dried dill
pepper to taste
chopped chives to garnish

Directions:

In a small bowl, mix yogurt, mayonnaise and buttermilk together thoroughly so there are no lumps. Add lemon juice, chopped shallot and mustard, and stir again. Add dry ingredients, and mix. Best prepared an hour before serving so flavours can develop. Sprinkle chopped fresh chives as a final finishing touch if using as a vegetable dip.

Notes:
1. Dressing may need thinning with either hot water or buttermilk, adding in small amounts and stirring, if it becomes too thick. Adjust seasoning powders as required.
2. You can also use fresh herbs rather than dried, but the quantities required need to be at least doubled. I’ve recreated a reasonable facsimile by using 1/2 grated onion, 1 garlic clove crushed and chopped, and a couple of tablespoons of chopped fresh parsley and dill.
3. If not using celery salt, use a pinch of sea salt flakes.
4. Can also be used as a dip for vegetables.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Yum yum, I like the sound of your creamy dressing. I have to confess a weakness for one that comes in a bottle though… I’ve never used the dried powders you write about, apart from celery salt which I bought for the first time the other week to use in Pam Corbin’s home made tomato ketchup recipe. they sound like a sensible thing to keep in the store cupboard, I imagine they have a fairly long shelf life, do they ?

  2. MiskMask says:

    Is it the Caesar dressing in a bottle that you like? I like that also, and I do keep a small bottle of it in the fridge for when I forget to make some. As for the packets of dried seasoning that you add to oil/vinegar or whatever, I’ve not bought them because they’re lethal for Peder’s blood sugar. The numbers on his testing kit spike that you wouldn’t believe! I suspect that they’re loaded with sugar and glucose.

    I’m glad that you’re reading this blog, Joanna. I was wondering if anyone at all was. LOL! My youngest son, John, wants me to start adding ‘meal combinations’ – what goes with what, as he puts it. What a sweetie. He wants quick and easy meals that he can fix when he arrives home from school. He’s a teacher, and he’s often completely knackered.

  3. I most definitely am reading it! Do you publicise it on Twitter if you are still there? I don’t put my blog posts on Facebook because people read them there instead of hopping over to the blog, and I’d rather they read them on the blog and then they might comment if I’m lucky. I don’t buy packets of dried mixed seasonings usually. I’ve bought a few middle eastern spice mixes from Steenbergs, but even then I’d rather make my own if I can. Dried onion powder sounds useful though! Yes it is the Caesar dressing the Cardini one. But my basic dressings are either nice vinegars/oils and mustard, or yoghurt and lemon and mint, things like that, I am not very adventurous on the dressing front, and that’s just my clothes (wink).

  4. MiskMask says:

    I’ve had the same jar of onion powder for over 2-years. Same goes for the celery salt. Neither’s lost any of its potency either, so I’m not sure if it’s mummified, radioactive or just good quality. I do however splurge on packets of dried coarsely ground Danish brown and yellow mustard seed, which I add to white sauce for devilishly hot mustard sauce for poached cod. And you, I bet, thought that the French were the mustard kings, eh? The Danes are a dab-hand at it, too. ;D

    Good idea about Twitter. I don’t do that. Maybe I should just stick the URL on my FB profile… Hmmm.

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

