Chorizo Chicken Breasts

This is a tweaked recipe from BBC Good Food website. The cooking time has been extended to 30 minutes*, and I found it not necessary to turn over the chicken breast. The end result is succulent chicken with a crispy, spicy chorizo covering.

Ingredients

2 large Skinless Chicken Breasts
Thinly Slices Chorizo Sausage
a few sprigs of thyme or 1/2 t. dried thyme
Olive Oil for drizzling

Preheat oven 200C/Fan 180C/Gas mark 6. Line a baking tray with foil.
Lay the chorizo slices on chicken breasts, starting from left side and overlapping. Tuck overlapping edges on left and right side underneath to secure. Lift each chicken breast on to baking tray, and drizzling olive oil over top, and sprinkle on thyme. Bake for 30 minutes.

Note: *original recipe says bake for 20 minutes, but that’s not enough as meat was still pink. It also says to turn the chicken over half-way through, but I didn’t because I was afraid the chorizo would fall off. In the end, it wasn’t necessary to turn them.

per serving: 400 calories, protein 39g, fat 7g, saturated fat 2g, fibre 6g

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I bet this makes the chicken much juicier and tasty than usual – I will definitely give this a go next time I have chicken breasts to cook. What do you serve them with?

  2. miskmask says:

    I had leftover new potatoes, so I cubed those and fried them with onion, fresh parsley and dried chili flakes. I steamed green beans as a veg but anything would be fine so long as the colour compliments the chorizo. Carrots might visually clash. I decided to keep the accompaniment flavours mild so they didn’t compete with the heat from the chorizo.

    The chicken breasts are amazingly tender and juicy.

    If you try this, tell me what you think! 🙂

Please Leave a Comment. I'd Love to Hear From You.

